Our user management guide (PDF) provides step-by-step instruction for all user management actions.
Anyone affiliated with your blog in any of the following capacities needs to be added as a blog "user": contributing content, authoring content, editing content, and/or accessing the blog for blog management. Even if a person you are adding will not be logging onto the blog directly, adding a blog "user" means registering that person to be affiliated with your blog in some way.
The user levels are available on our blogs are editor, author and contributor. As part of user management, you can adjust a user's level during two user management processes (creating a user is initially and/or editing an existing user profile). Here's what permissions are associated with each user level:
- An editor may publish, edit, and/or delete posts, pages, and links, can manage users, and access blog information stored in the back-end.
- An author may publish, edit, and/or delete his or her own posts and/or pages, but cannot edit anything created by others. They have limited access to blog information.
- A contributor cannot publish on the site, but s/he can save and edit his or her own draft posts. Most restrictive, lowest permission level. Some blog managers use "contributor" for people who will never directly access the blog.
Please see our user management guide (PDF) for instructions on all of the following user management actions:
- Create a New User
- Add an Existing Network User
- Review and/or Edit User Profile Information
- Remove an Individual User
- Remove Multiple Users
- Add a Profile Photo
- Replace a Profile Photo
- Delete a Profile Photo